Travel latest news: No new travel corridors until January 7 in fresh blow for holidaymakers

No more countries are to be added to the travel corridor list until the new year, although there may be some “emergency removals”.

While announcing changes to the roster of quarantine-free destinations in his weekly update on Thursday evening, the Transport Secretary, Grant Shapps, confirmed via Twitter that there will not be any changes until January 7 at the earliest.

Tour operators have been left frustrated by the continued exclusion of holiday favourites such as South Africa, Jamaica and Egypt, all of which have far lower weekly coronavirus case rates than the UK.

There was further disbelief at the removal of Namibia, Uruguay and the US Virgin Islands – all three of which having only granted a travel corridor within the last month.

It leaves Britons with just 23 holiday destinations that can feasibly be booked over the Christmas period, with Madeira, the Maldives and Chile among the countries still accessible from UK airports.

The new restrictions come into effect on Saturday 19, meaning those returning to England will have to self-isolate for 10 days, or pay for the Government’s struggling Test to Release service for the chance to leave quarantine after five days.

Scroll down for more updates.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>